Progress

10 weeks out from surgery & almost 23 weeks from my original injury date.  I’m still doing PT 3 times a week as well as doing exercises at home on off days.  We are continuing to work on stretching & rotation.  

My overhead & forward motion is pretty good & isn’t painful, although my elbow still wants to stay bent & my shoulder won’t stay level for any overhead or forward reaching movements.  

External rotation is still the stiffest & has the least amount of progress; reaching up & behind my back isn’t possible, reaching to the outside of my body on the right side is impossible.  Of course, since I don’t have full range of motion back, we haven’t begun any strengthening work yet.  Holding my arm up without support for any length of time is painful & makes my shoulder spasm.  It’s weird the things I can’t do, like plugging anything in, putting on a bra normally or putting my hair in a ponytail.  I’ve started automatically using my left hand for almost everything  that I can.  

I’m also still struggling with getting more than 3-4 hours of sleep at a time.  I’m trying not to take too many sleeping pills because I’d rather my body not be dependent on pills to sleep.  

So, less than a month until I’m scheduled to go back to work & I’m a bit nervous. Typing & answering the phones for 8 straight hours is going to be a challenge unless I make a surprising amount of progress between now & Jan. 2.      I’ m praying that’s how it works out because my bank account is screaming for mercy.  

Again I’ll say it…badminton is the devil. 

Leave a Reply

